cobilingual


European beaches – a different perspective
August 31, 2007, 10:22 am
Filed under: beach, england, events, france, sport, travel

Shortly after my last post about the beach in Salobreña, my French friend Delphine pointed out that I was generalising when I said that all European beaches are either grey or the sand is nonexistent.

“As you already noticed, Europe is very diverse. Go in the Landes (south west of France), Colioure (east French mediterranean coast), Erquy in Bretagne, or Algarve in Portugal and none of them look like each other,” she said.

She is, of course, completely right – and I had proof a week later when I went to the Great Yarmouth Beach Classic 2007. At Great Yarmouth the beach is long and wide with a good proportion of yellow hued sand. Unfortunately there are still a lot more rocks that I’m used to – certainly for a volleyball tournament – which meant my shins got shredded when diving for the ball.

I’ve been playing for Rhinos Volleyball Club in Cambridge over the last year. In summer, indoor volleyball teams tend to disperse into small groups who travel around doing beach volleyball tournaments – that’s what we did.

Our team won the mixed 4-aside tournament, which was nice – though the competition was underwhelming by Australian standards. Still, I have a plaque to show for my efforts. Though our competition was unspectacular, it was great to be able to watch one of the UK’s three Grand Slam beach events (the final is in Brighton this coming weekend).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

