cobilingual


Quaint little villages with science parks
May 10, 2007, 8:36 pm
Filed under: england, travel

Since I’ve already bloated my carbon footprint with long haul flights this year, and intend to do so at least twice more, it’s only fair that I make an effort while at home in Cambridge, and traveling around Cambridgeshire where the public transport is half decent.I did an interview at Melbourn, a village in Cambridgeshire, accessible by train and bus from Cambridge. I tested out both – train there, bus back – train was better, even though the bus left from directly in front of the science park there, while the train left me with a 15 minute trek through a smelly field.

I still think rural England is strange – rural in the loosest sense of the word, given you have cows grazing next to science parks, and porsche showrooms nested in ancient villages.

Melbourn is a cute little village – the type of place I would have no reason to visit if it weren’t for work. It’s nice that my work allows me to get into the corners of England tourists don’t see.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

