cobilingual


Water, water, everywhere
January 19, 2007, 9:44 pm
Filed under: australia, england, weather

I have been moaning about the weather this week, because the gales that have killed dozens of people across Europe have made it difficult for me to get to work (okay, so clearly it could be worse).

It took me an hour and forty-five minutes to get to work the other day, just travelling across Cambridge, because a series of accidents, combined with more people in cars because of the foul weather, resulted in gridlock on the arterial road from the centre of Cambridge to my office. It made me grumble that I may as well be working in London – though of course people actually commuting to London were even more ensnarled, with lots of trains not running at all as a precaution.

Though freezing conditions and possibly snow are forecast next week, today has been a reprieve. A blue sky morning motivated me to cycle to work, which gave me the natural high I’m using to get through the winter. To make me feel even better in a sadistic kind of way, I discovered courtesy of ABC online that parts of South Australia are being flooded by record rainfalls – and that’s in the middle of summer!

That knowledge staved off any pangs of homesickness I had lurking inside me. I’m also buoyed by the anticipation of another overseas Australia Day, which I enjoyed thoroughly in Canada, and intend to celebrate with equal enthusiasm here.

It looks like we’re not going away for Ian’s birthday after all, because after booking delays prices skyrocketed, so we decided on a bigger, better ‘joint birthday’ trip in about six weeks. The upside is we will be in Cambridge for Australia Day, so can rally our Aussie friends together and celebrate with the amplified nationalism one develops overseas.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

